I Believe In Words

I Believe in Words

I believe in speaking out of place. As a child I was known for asking rude questions, speaking when I shouldn’t, and not knowing when to shut up. When I had a idea or a revolution, I simply expected people to listen; and when they did not I would become louder and louder until they could no longer ignore what had to say. I love to talk. I believe talking about the good and bad issues in life sets us free in so many ways. I often forget how powerful my words are. I can make a person feel beautiful simply by telling them they are, or I can make a person feel like they are ugly by pointing out their imperfections. Words, like all things, if used improperly can be used for evil instead of good. I have used my words improperly, selfishly, and foolishly more then my fair share. I’ve told my bests friends to take a hike, said to my nine year old sister she was useless, and said awful things about people behind their backs. I’m not proud of those words of anger, pain, hate, and plain selfishness. Yet they leak out of my mouth often. I also picked up the habit of swearing. This has gotten me in a lot of trouble. I hate swears, I believe they are vile and unneeded, yet they slip out of my mouth with little thought. I must learn to control my words instead of letting my words control me. James 3:9 NIV says “With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse man, who have been made in Gods likeness” it goes along with that old saying “do you kiss you’re mother with that mouth?” Though I have made those mistakes in my words, I have also made a positive impact as well. I have talked for long hours, comforting my friends in painful times. I’ve been the bigger person and used my words respectfully when the other person did not deserve my kindness. And as often as possible I remind my friends they are beautiful even when they don’t believe me. Proverbs 15:1 NIV Bible says “ A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” My on going mission is to use as many words of love, joy, hope, peace, and positivity as I can muster up throughout my life. Words are one of the best ways I have found to explain emotion. Without word most likely I Jackson 2 would have given up. I would have just sat back and a let my anger boil up inside of me. I would have never been able to ask my friends and family to talk me through my suffering. Letting my wrist bleed out would have been my selfish way of dealing with the crap that happens. Yet my amazing friends said to me some of the most powerful word I have ever heard. They said “ we love you”. Once I understood that they really meant it, I climbed out of my depression, I let it go. I believe my calling to speak for people who no one will speak for, to be a friend to someone who no one wants to talk to, to be that voice. To say “I love you” to some one who has given up on love. The words you speak whether you are 12 or 112 will make an impact whether or not you want it to. I believe we all make a impact on this earth and we have the opportunity to make a choice to make a better influence in our day to day interactions with the people around us. I believe in the power of words.

This entry was posted in Beliefs and Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

