To Write Love On Her Arms

To Write Love On Her Arms is easily one of my personal favorite ministry. Their mission statement reads “To Write Love on Her Arms is a non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury and suicide. TWLOHA exists to encourage, inform, inspire and also to invest directly into treatment and recovery.” This ministry is on of the key reasons I’m siting here with blood pumping through my veins and a happiness that will always be with me.
I was thirteen and proud of it, I could handle anything and do anything with a go to it attitude, I was pretty with blond hair and stormy blue eyes and I was always getting told I looked much older and that flattered me much. I had no idea of what the year was to bring me, no idea of what horror the world could offer. Soon after I turned thirteen my best friend who I talked to daily stopped picking up her phone and my dad told me her family was dealing with things I wouldn’t wish on my most hated foe, it tore up my insides in a way I could never explain. After days of not sleeping in fear of the devastating nightmares that took place when my eyes shut I just couldn’t take it any longer and my depression consumed me and a darkness held me.
with help from friends and TWLOHA I was able to move on and let my depression go. When I was to scared to talk my friends I know that there was always someone willing to hear me out and love me even though they never met me, theres something wonderful about knowing there would always be someone that would help me at my finger tips. TWLOHA is like a community of people that build each other up and can just understand and tell you they love no matter what you did. My life is truly different now, without TWLOHA I wouldn’t be here, I wouldn’t have been able to understand Gods love without all those wonderful people, who even though they didn’t know me, loved me unconditionally and through them I felt the love of Jesus, I felt happy.
I went from being a secret atheist to being a God loving Christian who strives to serve the God that saved my life. I still read the TWLOHA Facebook page but instead of asking for help I give help instead by talking about my experience with depression and telling them about the Jesus I love and serve. I’m now 14 and no longer dead but truly alive and well. Pray for this ministry that has helped so many help themselves. God is my hero and TWLOHA is His sidekick. ~ Petra

http://www.twloha.com/

This entry was posted in Beliefs and Thoughts, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Write Love On Her Arms

  1. Tara says:

    “I went from being a secret atheist to being a God loving Christian”

    yeah thats pretty much what happened to me about 2 years ago. I would have never come out and admitted that until after the fact, but I suppose that was what I was. I said I believed but I didn’t have any transformation in my life. My story is very similar. Except I was dealing with anger/hatred. I’ve also struggled with self mutilation (not many people know that). I didn’t know about TWLOHA, but I saw the name of it a few place and I loved the name, cause I completely understood that. It was a song “You carried Me” and reading the testimonies people shared on its website that God really used to change my life.

    Heres the song He used:

    There I was a pink haired punk who acted like she owned the world, inside I was so broken and hateful and God reached into my stony heart and gave me a heart of flesh, He called me and drew me int His love. Love so amazing I wake each day in awe of it.

    Praise the Lord! I am so joyous to know He has done this in your life as well. You will never be the same. Praise to Him forevermore!

    Love you sister.
    – Tara

Leave a Reply

