Everyone’s My Neighbor

The other day, I was siting on a hard church pew analyzing the spots where the white paint was chipped and I was able to see the light smooth pine wood that was hidden under the peeling white paint. As brushed my finger tips along the pew until I heard Pastor  start one of his long speeches about treating one another with love and respected and my head turned and I looked straight at who I will call her Suzie even thought that is not her real name. The reason I was at church on a Monday is I’m a young actress in a homeschooling youth acting group called S.M.A.S.H ( Southern Maine Association of Shakespearian Homeschoolers) . Suzie  is well known for making rude nasty comments to myself and my friends. My friends and I are all Bible believing Jesus following Christians and tried our very best to be the better people and not be nasty back no matter how tempting it is. One of my favorite rules that I try my best to keep, is to love my neighbor as myself. That after noon I looked at Suzie as my neighbor and not my foe, I prayed to my forgiving graceful God and ask for forgiveness for my hateful thoughts and I asked Him to bless her. In the Webster’s 2 New Riverside University Dictionary it recognizes a neighbor as “ A fellow human being.” And no matter what offense someone does to me or my friends they will always be another human being and my neighbor, though sometimes I fall short I will always try to love them as myself. It has been a few weeks sense Suzie has picked on anyone at S.M.A.S.H and I am sure my God answered my prayer and she was blessed. We are told to love our neighbor 8 times in the bible, so why is it that so many of us have people that we think don’t deserve our kindness and love? God loved us so much that he gave us His one and only son to die on the cross and we can’t bother to give a little patience and kindness to someone who hurt our feelings. God loves us enough to want to spend eternity with us in heaven and we don’t even want to spend 10 minutes praying for someone who cut us off on the way to work. Everyone has a story and a reason for feeling the way they do about the world and if they are hurting you maybe its because they are roting from the inside out from all the pain and hurt they feel. Maybe what they need is not for you to be angry but for you to sit down and listen and just love them like Jesus loves us. As I stated before God command us to love our neighbors as ourselves 8 times in the Bible and here are the verses: Leviticus 19:18 NKJ “You shall not take vengeance, nor bear any grudge against the children of your people, but you shall love your neighbor as yourself: I am the Lord.” Matthew 19:19 NKJ “Honor your father and your mother, and You shall love your neighbor as yourself” Matthew 22:39 NKJ “And the second is like it: `You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” Mark 12:31 NKJ “And the second, like it, is this: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.” Luke 10:27 NKJ “So he answered and said, “ You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your strength, and with all your mind,’ and your neighbor as yourself.” Romans 13:9 NKJ “…You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” Galatians 5:14 NKJ “For all the law is fulfilled in one word, even in this: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” James 2:8 NKJ “If you really fulfill the royal law according to the Scripture, you shall love your neighbor as yourself, you do well;”

This entry was posted in Beliefs and Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everyone’s My Neighbor

  1. mom says:

    great post, Petra!

Leave a Reply

