Feeling Beautiful

I am a young women and a teenager, and when you belong in those groups, the need to feel beautiful is so strong. There are many things that make me feel beautiful like when guys hold open doors for me, when people notice my eyes are blue, when my friends pop-up on online chat with a cheerful “hello gorgeous!” instead of a “hi” or “hey,” and when they tell me they like my outfit or hair. Not to long ago I made the decision to stop wearing make up. I remember staring into my marrow for over a hour wondering to myself why I felt I needed to spend so much time and money on my outward “beauty” and I decided it was time to stop and be brae enough to be different. Easier said then down. I started by putting less and less on every day but the first day without any make up on what so ever was the hardiest. People looked at me different and it broke my heart. I felt like I stuck out like a sore thumb, the world knew what I really looked like. Over a month later I still feel tempted to cover up my imperfections, but I now know that when it all comes down to it it doesn’t make me more beautiful where it matters, my heart that is the root of my beauty. God has made me breathtaking and He has given me His loving heart. I love people and I love making His people feel loved. It has taking me a long time to learn that God made me beautiful and lovely as a young woman. I try my best to not to let flatter lead to sin or cause someone else to sin by wearing immodest clothes or acting in a dishonorable fashion. I wish to respected the body God gave me by not flaunting myself about or covering my skin with make up. Like everyone I make mistakes and I fall short, but I won’t let that stop me from doing Gods work, even if all I’m doing is putting on modest clothes, its still what God wants me to do. I want the world to see the loving heart God has given me and not just my pretty figure.

This entry was posted in Beliefs and Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feeling Beautiful

  1. Tara says:

    I love this. I can relate to it completely. Everyone liked me when I was the pink haired freak girl. Go plain and people don’t seem to see you the same anymore. But you know what? God has a word for us on this.

    1 Peter 3:3-4
    Whose adorning let it not be that outward adorning of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel;
    But let it be the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price.

    1 Timothy 2:9-10
    In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with broided hair, or gold, or pearls, or costly array; But (which becometh women professing godliness) with good works.

    “is in the sight of God of great price. ”

    I want what He sees as important, I know you do too.

    You are beautiful girlfriend! And I think prettier without makeup, the way God made you. You are one of the most beautiful young women I know. I love you sister in the LORD. More than you know. 🙂 And I am so praising God for all He is doing in your life. I love reading your posts, I love seeing God reveal Himself to you. He’s so amazing isn’t He? His love overwhelms me and I’m madly in love with Him. Stand strong in the faith. The LORD bless you and keep you and cause His face to shine on you.

Leave a Reply

