We Made The Best Forts

“But Racha! you PROMISED you would help us make a fort!” pleaded my 6-year-old bother, so I grabbed my coat and we started our fort. I was rather proud of that fort. After I was done helping them I came back inside and sat at the table thinking about the time I learned how to build a fort. I was probably like 6 when my mom signed my brother and I up for a wilderness survival class for home schooling kids, and I was super exited because my best friends mom had signed him up as well. After the class the teacher walked us up to the woods behind the building to show us how to make a shelter. My friend and I were both to young to really “help” but we watched while the older kids worked on their shelters. After they were done we all lined up to get a turn to lay in the shelter, and my friend and decided we were partners and we would make the best forts together. we stood side by side waiting our turn when my friend said “well if we are partners shouldn’t we hold hands?” so with a huge smile on my face I agreed with him and he knit his little fingers into mine and I know we would be best friends and make the best forts together forever. For years after we worked on our fort making skills and we probably had built a hundred forts in his yard. One day our family’s got into a fight and I was never alowed to see him or let his had slip into mine ever again. I’m proud to have shown my brothers how to build a fort and I hope that they will build a friendship alone with it. I secretly hope maybe just one of our forts are still standing.

This entry was posted in what the day brings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Made The Best Forts

  1. Tara says:

    One day our family’s got into a fight and I was never alowed to see him or let his had slip into mine ever again. I’m proud to have shown my brothers how to build a fort and I hope that they will build a friendship alone with it. I secretly hope maybe just one of our forts are still standing.

    That is so sad 😦 I hope one of the forts is still standing too.

Leave a Reply

