Words

I believe in speaking out of place. As a child I was known for asking rude questions, speaking when I shouldn’t, and not knowing when to shut up. When I had an idea or a revelation, I simply expected people to listen, and when they did not I would become louder and louder until they could no longer ignore what I had to say. I love to talk. I believe talking about the bad and good issues in life sets us free in so many ways. I often forget how powerful my words are. I can make a person feel beautiful simply by telling them they are, or I can make a person feel like they are ugly by pointing out their imperfections.

Words, like all things, if used improperly can be used for evil, vile, unholy ambitions. Or they can be beautiful, kind, and used for godly purposes . I have used my words improperly, selfishly, and foolishly more than my fair share. I’ve told my bests friends to take a hike, said to my nine-year-old sister she was useless, and said awful things about my mum behind her back. I’m not proud of those words. They are words of anger, pain, hate, and plain selfishness, but still they leak out of my mouth often.

I also picked up the habit of swearing, this has gotten me in a lot of trouble alone. I hate swears, I believe they are vile and unneeded, yet they slip out of my mouth with little thought. I must learn to control my words instead of letting my words control me.

Even though I have made mistakes in my words, I have also made a positive impacted as well. I have talked for long hours comforting my friends in painful times; and been the bigger person and used my words respectfully when the other person did not deserve my kindness. I, as often as possible, remind my friends they are beautiful. Proverbs 15:1 NIV Bible says “ A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” My on-going mission is to use as many words of love, joy, hope, peace, and positivity as I can muster up throughout my life. Being an American means I have several privileges, including freedom of speech. In the “Bill Of Rights” it states “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech…” I have the right as a American to speak my mind freely, as a Christian I have the obligation to speak what’s true. Mother Teresa once said “Kind words can be short and easy to speak, but their echoes are truly endless.”

Words are one of the best ways I have found to explain emotion. Without words, most likely I would have given up. I would have just sat back and a let my anger boil up inside of me. I would have never been able to ask my friends and family to talk me through my suffering. Letting my wrist bleed out would have been my selfish way of dealing with the crap that happens, yet my amazing friends said to me some of the most powerful word I have ever heard. They said “ we love you”. Once I understood that they really meant it, I climbed out of my depression, I let it go. Those words saved my life.

I believe my calling is to speak for people who no one will speak for, to be a friend to someone who no one wants to talk to, to be a voice. To say “I love you” to some one who has given up on love. As Blaise Pascal once said “Kind words do not cost much. Yet they accomplish much.” The words you speak whether you are 12, or 112, will make a impact whether or not you want it to. I believe we all make a impact on this earth and we have the opportunity to make a choice to make a better influence in our day to day interactions with the people around us . I Stand for our freedom of speech and our obligation to speak whats true .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Words

  1. Tara says:

    Words…indeed they are powerful. The Bible says so:
    Proverbs 18:21
    Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.

    (in fact Proverbs 18 in its entirety has alot to say about the tongue)

    Here’s another Scripture on the tongue, a sobering one indeed.

    James 3:2-10
    For in many things we offend all. If any man offend not in word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle the whole body. Behold, we put bits in the horses’ mouths, that they may obey us; and we turn about their whole body. Behold also the ships, which though they be so great, and are driven of fierce winds, yet are they turned about with a very small helm, whithersoever the governor listeth. Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth! And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity: so is the tongue among our members, that it defileth the whole body, and setteth on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire of hell. For every kind of beasts, and of birds, and of serpents, and of things in the sea, is tamed, and hath been tamed of mankind: But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison. Therewith bless we God, even the Father; and therewith curse we men, which are made after the similitude of God. Out of the same mouth proceedeth blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not so to be.

    I love you girlie. Stay strong in the faith@

Leave a Reply

