Life Through My Lens: Recycling Can Be Glamorous

This is a story about a dress. But not just any plain old dress, no, this dress is my favorite retro black and white polka dotted dress.

Like all good stories, I will start at the beginning and end somewhere close to the end. I suppose the beginning starts with my love affair with the 1950’s.  One day I was at the local Barns and Noble and saw a book, Barns and Noble is in fact filled with such things, but this book was special.This book was plastered in photos of Marilyn Monroe. Now don’t get me wrong, I had seen pictures of the glamorous Monroe many times before, but never had I seen her like this. She was so beautiful in every picture. I flipped through every page fascinated by her wild blonde hair, lovely red lips and stunning figure, but more then that, I loved her clothes.

The early 1950’s was just so dazzling. I knew from that moment on I wanted to look like those girls. But I had one problem, I didn’t have the money to spend on such a retro look.  So instead I did what I always do when I see something I really truly want, I googled it, and googled it, and googles it. I must had seen a billion sites and looked through dozens of magazines and store windows just dreaming about my future look.

Then one of my dear friends called me with the news, his sister had dropped off a box of stuff, and inside was a retro 1950’s dress! I’ve never been so excited about a box of hand-me-downs is my life. I hopped on over there as soon as I could, burst through the doors, and went straight for the cardboard box sitting on the table.  There it was, covered in glamorous spots. 

Hand-me-downs can be cool.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life Through My Lens: Recycling Can Be Glamorous

  1. toemailer says:

    We would love to post the top photo at toemail if you do not mind?
    We would just need a location, that you would like us to say where the photo was taken, and we’d be good to go!
    http://toemail.wordpress.com

    • sothedrama says:

      Don’t you think the 3rd photo would be better? I read your blog. It was crazy funny! You may use my picture if you would like, it was taken in Maine. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Charlotte says:

    I love that dress! It is so beautiful. The 50’s was an awesome decade, as I love almost everything fifties myself. 🙂

  3. toemailer says:

    Thanks … the first one is more about the dress. It’s posted now and we hope you like it. Thanks very much. We really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

